About Gulf of Guinea, facts and maps

The Gulf of Guinea Regional Office, based in Abidjan, covers eight countries in the region: Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Togo. The Gulf of Guinea is a vast and diverse region stretching from Senegal to Angola, covering approximately 6,000 km of coastline. It is an important shipping zone transporting oil and gas, as well as goods to and from central and southern Africa.
Gulf of Guinea, part of the eastern tropical Atlantic Ocean off the western African coast, extending westward from Cap López, near the Equator, to Cape Palmas at longitude 7° west. Its major tributaries include the Volta and Niger rivers.

The Gulf of Guinea derives its appellation from the former names of the coasts of Africa. The south coast of West Africa located north of the Gulf of Guinea was historically called ‘Upper Guinea. At independence, French Guinea became Guinea, Spanish Guinea became Equatorial Guinea, and Portuguese Guinea became Guinea-Bissau. The region was a major source of gold, hence the name “guinea” for the British gold coin.

A gulf is a large inlet from the ocean into the landmass, typically with a narrower opening than a bay, but that is not observable in all geographic areas so named. The term gulf was traditionally used for large highly-indented navigable bodies of salt water that are enclosed by the coastline.

What is the problem with the Gulf of Guinea?

Currently the Gulf of Guinea is the world’s hotspot for maritime piracy. Over the last 15 years container ships, fishing vessels, and oil tankers in the region have been the targets of numerous armed attacks and kidnappings. The past year has seen some positive developments regarding global maritime security.

What is the biggest problem in Guinea?

Government bureaucracy and pervasive corruption severely hamper economic development in Guinea.

Why is it called a Guinea?

Image result

The guinea (/ˈɡɪniː/; commonly abbreviated gn., or gns. in plural) was a coin, minted in Great Britain between 1663 and 1814, that contained approximately one-quarter of an ounce of gold. The name came from the Guinea region in West Africa, from where much of the gold used to make the coins was sourced. Guinea is named after the Guinea region which lies along the Gulf of Guinea.

What country owns Guinea?

Image result

The modern-day country of Guinea lies on the West coast of Africa. The country was initially colonized by France and was referred to as French Guinea prior to gaining its independence in 1958. Once the country gained its independence, it simply became known as Guinea.

What language does Guinea speak?

French is the country’s official language, but is used almost exclusively as a second language. Six indigenous languages have the status of national languages: Pular (or Fula), Maninka, Susu, Kissi, Kpelle and Toma.

What are the four Guineas countries?

The following country names include the word “Guinea”:

  • Equatorial Guinea.
  • Guinea-Bissau.
  • Guinea.
  • Papua New Guinea.

What is the most popular food in Guinea?

Most commonly Guinean food is rice and sauce, which may include pieces of meat or fish or both. Food can be eaten with a spoon or with your hands and is sometimes served in one big bowl for everyone to share.

How does Guinea make money?

Bauxite mining and alumina production provide about 80% of Guinea’s foreign exchange. Several U.S. companies are active in this sector. Diamonds and gold also are mined and exported on a large scale, providing additional foreign exchange.