Norway and Russia have delimited their jurisdiction in the north of their land boundary. Norway and the former Soviet Union concluded a maritime boundary agreement in 1957 delimiting the and continental shelf within Varangerfjorden, a fjord lying seaward of the Norway-Soviet land boundary. The 1957 agreement was superseded by a 2007 agreement between Norway and Russia that delimited the sea, continental shelf, and EEZ in the Varangerfjorden area. This boundary extends from the terminus of the land boundary to an area just seaward of the mouth of Varangerfjorden and is composed of geodetic lines connecting six points, with a total length of approximately 39 M. The agreement contains provisions pertaining to the existence of possible hydrocarbon deposits extending across the boundary line.Norway and Russia concluded a maritime boundary agreement in 2010 delimiting the EEZ and continental shelf of the two countries in the Barents Sea and . The boundary is composed of geodetic lines connecting eight points, with a total length of approximately 907 M. The boundary begins at the terminus of the Varangerfjorden boundary (in the south) agreed in 2007 and terminates in the Arctic Ocean at the point where the last boundary segment (between boundary points 7 and 8) intersects with a line connecting the continental shelf limits of both countries “as established in accordance with Article 76 and Annex II of the Convention.” The 2010 boundary separates the generated by the mainland coasts of both countries and also by Svalbard (to the west) and Russia's Franz Josef Land and Novaya Zemlya (to the east).The boundary delimits continental shelf beyond 200 M in two areas: (1) near its northern extent (Arctic Ocean) and (2) in the south-central area (“loop hole” in the Barents Sea). The agreement includes annexes addressing matters relating to fisheries and transboundary hydrocarbon deposits. Agreement between the Russian Federation and the Kingdom of Norway on the Maritime Delimitation in the Varangerfjord area, 11 July 2007Download Norwegian Exclusive Economic Zone Norway straight baseline-internal waters- on the north sea Russia straight baseline-internal waters-territorial waters-Baltic-north arctic Russian Exclusive economic Zone-in Baltic and north arctic Russia straight baseline-internal waters Negotiations on the outside marine border were initiated in 1970. Norway claimed, in accordance with the United Nations Convention on the of the Sea Article 15 and the Convention on the High Seas, that the border should follow the equidistance principle, the border being defined by midpoints between the nearest land area or islands, as is normal practice internationally. The Soviet Union claimed, based on a decision by Joseph Stalin from 1926, which was not recognized by any other country than the Soviet Union, that a “sector principle” should apply, such that the border should follow meridian lines. Most of the disputed area was within what would normally be considered Norwegian according to the relevant international treaties. In 1975 the two countries agreed upon a moratorium prohibiting exploration for and in the disputed area. In 1978 a…

You must be Register or logged in to view full content, high resolution maps, charts, pdf and more.

HTML tutorial

>>>please login<<<