Agreement between Italy and Yugoslavia concerning the of the between the two Countries in the Adriatic *8 January 1968 Italy-Yugoslavia treatyDownload Agreement between Italy and Yugoslavia concerning the Delimitation of the Continental Shelf between the two Countries in the Adriatic Sea*8 January 1968  (Download)LIMITS IN THE SEA No. 9 : Italy – Yugoslavia  (Download) Treaty on the delimitation of the frontier for the part not indicated as such in the Peace Treaty of 10 February 1947 (with annexes, exchanges of letters and final act). Signed at Osimo, Ancona, on 10 November 1975  (Download) and Italy have a that extends for approximately 370 nautical miles through the Adriatic Sea. This continental shelf border was initially established by Italy and Yugoslavia in 1968 and followed a modified equidistance line giving partial effect to four islands: Jabuka, Palagruža, and Galijula (Yugoslavia/Croatia) and Pianosa (Italy). In 2005, the two states agreed to update the original coordinate values for the points established in 1968 by referencing them into the modern WGS-84 datum. The territorial sea portion of the frontier that was first delimited between Italy and Yugoslavia in 1975 was not included in the 2005 update. In October 2003, Croatia declared an “Ecological and Fisheries Protection Zone” in the Adriatic Sea. However, in June 2004 Croatia decided to delay the implementation of that Zone for the (EU) Member States. Then, in December 2006 it decided to implement the Zone fully from 1 January 2008. Croatia–Italy border-continental shelf Yugoslavia Croatia straight baseline and internal waters Maritime boundaries in the AdriaticIn the period following the WW II there were just three coastal states in the Adriatic.The total of 3737 km of coast was shared between former Yugoslavia (56%), Italy (33%) (11%). A small number of coastal states should theoretically enhance theprospects for co-operation, but it did not flourish as it might have been expected. Thiswas largely the consequence of the fact that each of the coastal states had distinct ideologicalorientations and geopolitical codes. Italy was a part of NATO alliance, Albaniawas a rigid communist state, initially a Warsaw Pact member and later on a dissidentof the Soviet bloc with a strong isolationistic policy. Yugoslavia, ideologically a“soft-communist” state, maintained a neutral position between the East and the West,while co-operating with both sides. With regard to developments in the maritime boundarysystem, this political context meant that the only bilateral achievements betweenthe Adriatic states were delimitations settled between Italy and Yugoslavia. Due to itsunfriendly foreign policy, Albania did not want to delimit its maritime boundaries.Remaining maritime jurisdiction and their limits, namely territorial seas and baselines,were proclaimed unilaterally. All three coastal states proclaimed territorial sea. Albania initially proclaimed territorialsea which extended 15 nautical miles. In 1990 Albania corrected the breadth of territorialsea to the conventional 12 nautical miles. Italy in 1974 and former Yugoslavia in1979 proclaimed their 12 nautical miles territorial seas. The straight baselines were alsoadopted by all sides. Yugoslavia completed its baseline system, the most complex of thethree,…

You must be Register or logged in to view full content, high resolution maps, charts, pdf and more.

HTML tutorial

>>>please login<<<